2006 Special Fellowship for Women Writers

“On behalf of Literary Arts, it is my great pleasure to inform you that you have been selected as a recipient of a 2006 Oregon Literary Fellowship.  Enclosed is your fellowship check.  Congratulations!”  Although the words are straight-forward, and a check tumbled from the letter to my counter-top, I couldn’t imagine what was going on.  So I read the letter again and wondered why they were asking me for a publicity photo.  Then I read it again and studied the list of recipients.  Sure enough, my name was there.  It appeared to be a legitimate check.  Three hundred plus applicants in various genres, fifteen awards, two to women writers.  For three days I sat with this information; it just didn’t sink in.  But now that I’ve sent my bio and photo, gave my social security number, and have been enthusiastically congratulated by all the Literary Arts people I’ve spoken with this morning, I think this might be real.

It’s not a lot of money, but it will certainly help me finish writing my new play, OPEN.  If you’d like to read some of my proposal for this work you’ll find it at the top of this page above the header pic.

To quote my father-in-law: “I’m deliriously happy!”

4 responses to “2006 Special Fellowship for Women Writers

  1. Oh my gawd! Congratulations! This is very big news. I am so proud of you.

  2. i knew this was coming to you. it is all just as it is meant to be right now. i am just so very very happy for you shannon. congratulations! i love you!

  3. We (your blog devotees) all know you’re a superstar, and this proves other people know it, too!

  4. WOW SHAN!
    Congrats from So Cal!
    I’m sure this is just the first of many great things to come this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

